Bison herd at Botna Bend Park in Hancock, IA

Things To Know

Upcoming Events

About Pottawattamie County

Pottawattamie County is a county located in the southwest corner of the beautiful state of Iowa in the United States of America. The county was established on February 24, 1847, and the county seat is in the City of Council Bluffs. Other cities in Pottawattamie County include Avoca, Carson, Carter Lake, Crescent, Hancock, Macedonia, McClelland, Minden, Neola, Oakland, Shelby, Treynor, Underwood, and Walnut.

The county is administered by a Board of Supervisors who are elected and include five members. Other elected officials include the Attorney, Auditor, Recorder, Sheriff, and Treasurer.

Read More

Explore Pottawattamie County