Frequently Asked Questions
How do I register a newly purchased vehicle?
If you purchased a new vehicle, you will need to bring in the title, along with the bill of sale, driver’s license or state-issued ID and application for a certificate of title completed by all owners.
You'll also need a Damage Disclosure form on vehicles 7 years or newer and an Odometer Disclosure form is needed on vehicles 10 years and newer.
What do I need to bring if I moved from out of state?
Title, OOS registration, proof of address (mail within last 30 days from a place of business), application for a certificate by all owners.
How long do I have to register a new purchase?
30 days from date of sale
How long do I have to renew my tags?
The month before they are due, the month of and the month after.
Example: Jan renewal - Dec, Jan, Feb
How do I register a homemade trailer?
If less than 2,000 lbs, you will need your driver’s license or state-issued ID. If over 2,000 lbs, you will need to contact the Department of Transportation (DOT) at (515) 237-3050.
What do I need to bring if I changed my address?
Call office with their address or come in with old registration and change of address.
What is the difference between Treasurer's Office and Iowa DOT Driver's Services?
Council Bluffs Driver's Services 712-323-1219
How do I get Persons with Disabilities plates or parking permit?
Letter from a doctor stating permanent or temporary
How do I apply for a replacement title?
All owners would need to sign an application. It is a $25 charge and a six-day wait.
What do I do when an owner on a title is deceased?
There are many circumstances regarding the death of an owner listed on the title. Please contact our office at (712) 328-5631 for any questions about this. Please have the title with you in case we have questions.
How do I order specialty plates?
Please visit the Iowa DOT Personalized and Specialty Plate’s page to complete your order.
I sold or junked my vehicle, what do I do with my plates and how do I get a refund?
If you sold your vehicle and do not plan to replace it, turn your plates in within six months of the date of sale and we will apply for a refund if any credit of $10 or more.
If you sold your vehicle and plan to replace it within the next six months, you may use those plates on the next vehicles if any credit left of $10 or more that will be applied to the registration on your new vehicle.
If you have turned in your leased vehicle, you will need to fill out a claim for a refund and a Lease Termination along with your plates. You can then apply for a refund as long as there is $10 or more of credit left.
If you have moved out of state, you will need to complete a Claim for Refund form and also send in a copy of your current out of state registration. You can apply for a refund as long as there is $10 or more of credit left.
Can I make payments on my taxes?
If a property has not went to tax sale, parcel payments can be made at any time.
How do I apply for Iowa property tax credit?
Forms must be completed and submitted to our office by June 1st. Please contact our office for information in regards to getting a form or further information.
How do I pay my tax sale?
Tax sales can only be paid by submitting guaranteed funds.
How do I register to for the tax sale?
Information will be located on web page in May.
What happens when property taxes have a bankruptcy applied to them?
The property cannot go to tax sale.
What is the penalty for delinquent taxes?
1.5 % a month until after tax sale then it raises to 2% a month.
When do tax statements go out in the mail and when are they due?
Tax statements are mailed out to the homeowners at the end of August. The first half of taxes are due on September 30th and the second half is due on March 31.
Example: 2019 Tax year
The first half of taxes are due September 30, 2020, and the Second half of taxes would be due March 31, 2021.
When is the tax sale?
Tax sale is always the 3rd Monday in June.
Key Services & Resources
Fax: (712) 328-5823
Monday - Friday
227 S 6th St
Council Bluffs, IA 51501