Recorder Vital Records

Information on how to request copies of birth, death, and marriage records.

Recorder’s across the state have access to these records:

  • Births 1986-Present
  • Death 1954-Present
  • Marriage 1954-Present

Effective July 1, 2019, vital records fees will be $15.00.

  • County vital records are regulated by the Iowa Department of Public Health by state laws and administrative rules.
  • Certified copies may be obtained by mail or in person only if the application is completely filled out and notarized. You also need to include a copy of your government photo ID and proof of entitlement to the record requested. Our office accepts checks or money orders through the mail.

Certified Record Application Form Iowa Department of Health and Human Services

 

Applying through the mail?

If you are applying for a certified copy through the mail, you must fill out the application with your signature notarized, and we need a copy of your valid ID or driver's license and a check or money order (made out to the Pottawattamie County Recorder and signed by remitter). Please send everything to the Pottawattamie County Recorder at 227 S 6th St. Room 251 Council Bluffs, IA 51501.

If you have any questions, please call (712) 328-5612 Option #4. 

CERTIFIED COPIES

Certified Copies of Birth, Marriage & Death Certificates are available foe $15/copy and the requester must have direct and tangible interest in order to request.

Direct and Tangible Interest

IDENTITY 

Current and valid ID is reguired to obtain a certified record. If you do not have an unexpired ID

Acceptable Identity Documents

PHOTOCOPIES 

Photocopies of birth, death, and marriage records are available for $5/record. The event must have taken place in Pottawattamie County in order to obtain a photocopy. The record will be noted, "Not for Legal Purposes."

BIRTH RECORDS

DEATH RECORDS

MARRIAGE RECORDS

Phone (712) 328-5612
Fax: (712) 328-4738
Hours Monday - Friday

8:00am to 3:30pm
Real Estate Filings, Marriage Applications, Passports

8:00am to 4:00pm
Boat, Snowmobile, ATV, Birth, Death & Marriage Records
Location Pottawattamie County Courthouse
Second Floor
227 S 6th St
Council Bluffs, IA 51501