Secondary Roads

Miles of Pride!

The Pottawattamie County Secondary Roads Department is responsible for all development, construction and maintenance on the County highway system.  It is the mission of our staff to
be efficient, safe, financially responsible, and environmental stewards to all residents and visitors
of Pottawattamie County.

Did you know?

Pottawattamie County’s road system is made up of  959 square miles, the second largest in the State of Iowa. The Secondary Roads Department has 251 paved two-lane miles and 1231 unpaved two-lane miles with 346 bridges, 1700+ culverts, and approximately 17,000 signs.  Secondary Roads has 64 employees and 7 satellite maintenance shops. 

County Ordinances

John Rasmussen, P.E.
John Rasmussen, P.E.
County Engineer
Phone (712) 328-5608
Hours 7:00am to 3:30pm
Monday - Friday
Location Roads Operation Center
17501 Eastern Hills Drive
Council Bluffs, IA 51503
Mailing Address 17501 Eastern Hills Drive
Council Bluffs, IA 51503