Pottawattamie County Conservation Board Adds New Member, Elects Officers

Posted January 17, 2024
Posted by: Conservation

Pottawattamie County, Iowa- The Pottawattamie County Board of Supervisors recently appointed a new member to the Pottawattamie County Conservation Board (PCCB). The Supervisors named Brittany McGee of Council Bluffs to PCCB. They also reappointed Chris Ruhaak of Council Bluffs to another term on PCCB.

McGee is the promotions coordinator for Pottawattamie County Public Health. She has a background in natural resources including a degree in Wildlife Ecology and Conservation from Northwest Missouri State.

At its January 9 meeting, members of the Conservation Board elected their officers for 2024. Eric Hough of Underwood was elected president, Jerry Mathiasen of Council Bluffs as vice president, and Mary Kramer of Neola as secretary.

“These are hardworking and dedicated volunteer board members that help oversee the care of our natural resources and county parks,” said Supervisor Brian Shea, who also serves as a liaison to the Conservation Board. “We know Brittany will be a fine addition.”

Pottawattamie County Conservation Executive Director Mark Shoemaker believes McGee will be a real asset to PCCB.

“We look forward to working with her to meet our mission of providing meaningful experiences with the unique natural resources and recreation opportunities of our county,” said Shoemaker.

About Pottawattamie County Conservation: Pottawattamie County Conservation promotes an appreciation for Iowa's unique natural areas through year-round environmental education programming, natural resource management, habitat restoration, as well as many recreational activities at six county parks. Whether you enjoy hiking, camping, fishing, or just want to learn something new, Pottawattamie County Conservation offers exceptional opportunities to experience and explore the outdoors.

Back: All News